Nigeria: General Elections 2019

Time until Saturday, 16 February 2019, 08:00:00 (Lagos time)



Following the inauguration of the Steering Committee of the ECOWAS Network of Electoral Commissions (ECONEC) in Abuja, on Thursday, the Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and serving President of ECONEC, Professor Yakubu Mahmood says the Body was committed to improving the conduct of elections in the West African Sub-region.
It would be recalled that Professor Yakubu was recently elected as the President of ECONEC in Cotonou, Benin Republic.
Prof. Yakubu who noted that the conduct of elections in the West African sub-region has been a panacea for post-conflict peace building advised Electoral Commissions in the Sub-Region to continue to be impartial noting that: “…the impartiality of the Election Management Body in the Conduct of elections plays a critical role in determining whether the outcome of the elections is accepted or not”.
Professor Yakubu emphasized that the conduct of regular and periodic elections was the first step towards the development of democracy and democratic governance, adding that: “the contestation for power and outcome of elections, especially the perception of citizens as to whether elections are free, fair and credible can either enhance or disrupt the democratic process”.
Citing Article 12 of the ECOWAS Supplementary Protocol on Democracy and Good Governance, professor Yakubu said ECOWAS Commission can assist member states in organizing credible elections such that will ensure acceptable election outcomes and it was against this background that ECONEC was formed as a regional platform for the promotion of credible elections.
The ECONEC President and Chairman, INEC further said Body was meeting to review and to strengthened the ECONEC 2017- 2018 work plan.
Personalities at the inauguration ceremony include; – the Chairman of the Electoral Commission of Benin Republic and 1st Vice President of the Network, Professor Emmanuel Tiando; Chairman of the Electoral Commission of Guinea Bissau and 2nd Vice President, Jose Pedro Sambu; Chairman of the Electoral Commission of Burkina Faso  and Treasurer of the Network, Ahmed Newton Barry; and Chairperson of the Electoral Commission of Cape Verde and Assistant Treasurer of the Network.
At the end of the meeting, the meeting, Professor Yakubu led the Committee members to the Electoral Institute (TEI) for the commissioning of the Permanent Secretariat of ECONE