Nigeria: General Elections 2019

Time until Saturday, 16 February 2019, 08:00:00 (Lagos time)



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has released results of Federal and State Constituency elections that were successfully conducted, collated and announced by the various Returning Officers in the Saturday 19th March 2016 Rivers State court ordered re-run elections.

In a statement signed and issued by the Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), for Rivers State, Aniedi Abasi Ikoiwak, the Commission released the results of four (4) Federal Constituencies and that of eleven (11) State Constituencies.


A breakdown of the results released are as follows:




S/N Federal Constituency Candidate Party Votes Scored Remarks
1. Port Harcourt 1 Hon. Kenneth Anayo Chikere PDP 18,904 Returned
2. Port Harcourt II Blessing Nsiegbe PDP 6968 Returned
3. Obio/Akpor Hon. Kingsley O. Chinda PDP 27,895 Returned
4. Abua/Odual/Ahoada East Betty Apiafi PDP 29,105 Returned


State Constituencies:


S/N State Constituency Candidate Party Votes Scored Remarks
1. Ahoada East 1 Martyns Manah PDP 6,654 Returned
2. Ahoada East II Ehie Ogerenye Edison PDP 3,417 Returned
3. Akuku Toru 1 Jack Major M. PDP 11,624 Returned
4. Emohua Ogeh Samuel PDP 13,621 Returned
5. Obio/Akpor 1 Amaewhule Martin Chike PDP 9,703 Returned
6. Obio/Akpor II Michael Okechukwu Chinda PDP 18,600 Returned
7. Onelga 1 Christian Ahiakwo PDP 7,256 Returned
8. Opobo/Nkoro Hon. Andrew Anderson Miller APC 9,546 Elected
9. Akuku Toru II Hon. (Barr.) Benibo Fredrick Anabraba APC 2,970 Elected
10. Port Hacourt II Adoki Tonye Smart PDP 15,244 Returned
11. Omuma Hon. Kelechi Godspower Nwogu PDP 5,568 Returned

Please click here to download the results >> INEC_Rivers_Updated_March_19_Re-Run_Results

The Commission explained that: “some of the State/Federal Constituencies and Senatorial seats are inconclusive as a result of reports of election cancellations and elections not conducted for reasons of serious violence in some units and Registration areas.” It promised that details of all these places would be made available unit-by-unit, Registration Area-by-Registration Area (RA).


The Commission reiterated that “a new date to conduct the elections will be communicated to the public after due

consultation with stakeholders”.














Tags: ,