Nigeria: General Elections 2019

Time until Saturday, 16 February 2019, 08:00:00 (Lagos time)



Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Professor Mahmood Yakubu, has today, sworn-in fourteen (14) newly appointed Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs). He charged them to remain impartial in carrying out their duties.
At the Swearing in ceremony held at the INEC Headquarters in Abuja, the INEC Chairman implored the RECs to key into the Commission’s  objective of  raising the bar of elections in 2019. “We must demonstrate that 2015 was not a fluke but a systematic progression in the maturity of our democracy”, he said.  
Professor Yakubu urged the RECs to be above board in all their dealings, saying that “INEC is not a political party. INEC has no candidate in any election”.
He called on them to demonstrate transparency, impartiality, courage and balanced interaction with all stakeholders. “ As an umpire, our responsibility is to guarantee a level playing field for all actors”, he added.
The INEC Chairman noted that managing elections was not an ordinary responsibility and therefore advised the new RECs to familiarize themselves with the existing electoral legal framework as well as the Commission’s plan and procedures.
Professor Yakubu pointed out that good elections begin from the credibility of election managers, adding that the outcome of elections must be determined solely by the votes cast by eligible citizens.
Responding on behalf of the newly sworn-in RECs, Professor Godswill Obioma, pledged the commitment and loyalty of the RECs to the Commission and to Nigeria.
The new RECs include: Prof. James Iorliam Apam; Hussani Halilu Pai; Dr Nentawe Goshe Yilwatda; Ibrahim Abdulahi (Mni); Alh. Ahmed Makama;  Alh. Umar Ibrahim (Mni); Dr. Biryai O Frakland; and Obo O. Effanga. Others are: Prof. Godswill Obioma; Prof. Francis Chukwuemeka Ezeonu; Dr Nwachukwu Orgi; Dr. Iloh Joseph Valentine Chuks; Mr. Emeka Ononamadu; and Barr. Agboke Mutiu Olaleke.
The new RECs have since resumed work.
Download full list of the new RECs and their posting >> click here